you're reading...

Julien Andlauer wins at the Nürburgring and extends Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland championship lead

 In the fight for the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland title, the Porsche Junior Julien Andlauer (F/BWT Lechner Racing) made the most of the weekend at the Nürburgring: First, the points leader celebrated a victory on Saturday, then followed up with his fourth win of the season on Sunday. “Actually I was really fast. Unfortunately I made a mistake during the race and Michael Ammermüller caught me and was right on my bumper until the end of the race,” said Andlauer. His German teammate Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing) crossed the finish line in second place ahead of Dylan Pereira (L/Lechner Racing Team).

The six drivers Louis Henkefend (D/Team Allied-Racing), Berkay Besler (TR/Car Collection Motorsport), Reece Barr (IRL/Förch Racing), Gustav Malja (S/Förch Racing) sowie Leon Köhler (D/MSG/HRT Motorsport) and Nicolas Schöll (A/Team Allied-Racing) also had reason to celebrate this weekend. The six have qualified for the finale of the Porsche Esports Carrera Cup Deutschland. At the Nürburgring, the drivers posted the fastest times in a simulator in the Porsche Hospitality. They will go up against six online players at the final round of the virtual championship held at the ADAC SimRacing Expo at the Nürburgring on 30 August.

On the real racetrack, 29 Porsche 911 GT3 Cup lined up on the grid on Sunday under a cloudy sky. Andlauer made a clean start off the line in his 485 hp Porsche 911 GT3 Cup and turned his pole position into a lead. In lap two, the safety car was deployed, at the restart, however, Andlauer kept his composure and managed to pull clear of his pursuers. Over the course of the race, Ammermüller closed in on the 20-year-old. Spectators in the Eifel were treated to a gripping duel for the lead. The seasoned specialist made several attempts to squeeze past at the end of the finish straight, but Andlauer deftly fended him off and crossed the finish line after 19 laps 0.182 seconds ahead of Ammermüller. “I definitely could’ve won, but there are only very few places to overtake here. There’s no point impetuously going for a gap and risking retirement. Everything is still open in the championship,” said Ammermüller.

The third podium step was occupied by Pereira. The Luxembourger overtook Larry ten Voorde (NL/Overdrive Racing by Huber) right after the start. “My aim is to finish the championship in third and I took the next step towards this goal today. It gives me confidence that I made it into the top three for the fourth time in a row,” said Pereira. Trailing ten Voorde over the line was Henric Skoog (S/Overdrive Racing by Huber) and Jaap van Lagen (NL/Förch Racing).

Joey Mawson (AUS/CARTECH Motorsport by Nigrin) claimed position seven on the 3.629-kilometre sprint circuit of the Nürburgring, with eighth place going to Igor Walilko (PL/Overdrive Racing by Huber). Porsche Junior Jaxon Evans (NZ/Team Project 1 – JBR) started from P14 and at one point had moved up into tenth. The New Zealander finished the race on eleventh. “That was an intense race with a lot of duels. Unfortunately I made a few too many mistakes. It was my first Carrera Cup race weekend here at the Nürburgring, but I still wanted to finish further up the field,” said Evans. The top spot of the amateur class podium went to Stefan Rehkopf from Germany. In this category, the Huber driver beat Georgi Donchev (BG/Huber Racing) and Matthias Jeserich (D/CARTECH Motorsport by Nigrin).

Thanks to his two victories at the Nürburgring, Andlauer has managed to extend his lead in the championship: The Frenchman has earned 197.5 points, putting him 23.5 points ahead of his closest pursuer Ammermüller. Ten Voorde sits third with 154 points. The Porsche Carrera Cup travels with the ADAC GT Masters to the Hockenheimring Baden-Württemberg from 13 to 15 September to contest rounds 13 and 14. The circuit in the forested Hardtwald has already hosted the season-opening doubleheader event of the one-make cup. The winner of both races on that occasion was Larry ten Voorde.

Result race 12:
1. Julien Andlauer (F/BWT Lechner Racing)
2. Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing)
3. Dylan Pereira (L/Lechner Racing Team)
4. Larry ten Voorde (NL/Overdrive Racing by Huber)
5. Henric Skoog (S/Overdrive Racing by Huber)
6. Jaap van Lagen (NL/Förch Racing)
7. Joey Mawson (AUS/CARTECH Motorsport by Nigrin)
8. Igor Walilko (PL/Overdrive Racing by Huber)
9. Gustav Malja (S/Förch Racing)
10. Toni Wolf (D/Car Collection Motorsport)

Points’ standings after 12 of 16 races:
Drivers’ classification
1. Julien Andlauer (F/BWT Lechner Racing), 197.5 points
2. Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing), 174 points
3. Larry ten Voorde (NL/Overdrive Racing by Huber), 154 points


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: