you're reading...

Christian Engelhart takes lights-to-flag Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland win at the Lausitzring

Christian Engelhart (BLACK FALCON) celebrates his first win of the season in the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland. The German crossed the finish line first in his 485 hp Porsche 911 GT3 Cup at round four of the one-make race series as part of the Motorsport Festival on the Lausitzring ahead of Christopher Zöchling (MRS GT-Racing) from Austria and Porsche Junior Dennis Olsen (N/Konrad Motorsport). “My team gave me a car with the best setup and driving it gave me a great feeling. At times, Christopher Zöchling put me under a lot of pressure but I managed to ward him off. I’m thrilled with my victory and I’m particularly pleased for my team, Black Falcon,” said Engelhart.

Taking up the race from pole position, Engelhart got a clean start to retain his lead. But from the very beginning, Zöchling put pressure on the seasoned Porsche specialist. At times, only several tenths of a second separated the pair, but over the course of the race Engelhart managed to increase the gap by putting in several fastest race laps. This marks the first race win for the Bavarian’s Black Falcon squad after only just joining the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland this season. MRS pilot Zöchling ultimately finished on second: “I was really fast in the early phase and I was determined to get past Christian Engelhart. In the final laps, however, I wasn’t able to match his pace.”

Behind the duo, Michael Ammermüller (D/raceunion Huber Racing) maintained third place for quite some time. Although Olsen managed to overtake him in the sprint to the first corner, the 31-year-old immediately countered in the same lap. But the youngster stayed glued to his bumper. In the penultimate lap, Olsen saw his chance and swept past, with the 21-year-old bringing home third place ahead of Ammermüller on the 3.478-kilometre racetrack. “I got away well off the line and I waited patiently for my chance to overtake Michael Ammermüller. I’m thrilled to have earned some all-important points,” said Olsen. Fifth place went to Nick Yelloly (GB/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1).

Porsche-Junior Thomas Preining (A/Konrad Motorsport) took the flag in sixth. “Unfortunately I lost a place to Nick Yelloly, but I was able to pick up my pace and drive well again. This makes me feel positive for the next races,” said the young racing driver from Linz. Preining has built his lead in the rookie classification to 91 points. The best amateur driver was Carlos Rivas (BLACK FALCON) from Luxembourg. Wolfgang Triller (D/Huber Racing by TriSpa) remains at the head of the amateur category with 42 points.

In the overall classification, three wins puts Dennis Olsen in the lead with 91 points. Behind him on second is Ammermüller with 69 points. Zöchling ranks third after four rounds of the championship with 65 points. Konrad Motorsport leads the team classification with 122 points. Next up on the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland calendar is the double-header on the Red Bull Ring in Spielberg, Austria, from 9-11 June.

Result races 4:
1. Christian Engelhart (D/BLACK FALCON)
2. Christopher Zöchling (A/MRS GT-Racing)
3. Dennis Olsen (N/Konrad Motorsport)
4. Michael Ammermüller (D/raceunion Huber Racing)
5. Nick Yelloly (GB/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
6. Thomas Preining (A/Konrad Motorsport)
7. Luca Rettenbacher (A/Konrad Motorsport)
8. Gabriele Piana (I/RN Vision Team BLACK FALCON)
9. Henric Skoog (S/raceunion Huber Racing)
10. David Kolkmann (D/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
11. Ryan Cullen (GB/raceunion Huber Racing)
12. Max van Splunteren (NL/MRS GT-Racing)
13. Kim André Hauschild (D/Speed Lover)
14. Richard Gonda (SK/Zele-Racing)
15. Carlos Rivas (L/BLACK FALCON)
16. Wolfgang Triller (D/Huber Racing by TriSpa)
17. Matthias Jeserich (D/Huber Racing by TriSpa)
18. Stefan Rehkopf (D/Cito Pretiosa)
19. Philipp Sager (A/Zele-Racing)
20. Ronja Assmann (D/Cito Pretiosa)
Not classified:
Marius Nakken (N/MRS GT-Racing)
Larry Ten Voorde (NL/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
Jörn Schmidt-Staade (D/Cito Pretiosa)
Wolf Nathan (NL/Huber Racing by TriSpa)

Points’ standings after 4 of 14 races:
Drivers’ classification
1. Dennis Olsen (N/Konrad Motorsport), 91 points
2. Michael Ammermüller (D/raceunion Huber Racing), 69 points
3. Christopher Zöchling (A/MRS GT-Racing), 65 points

Rookie classification
1. Thomas Preining (A/Konrad Motorsport), 91 points
2. Larry Ten Voorde (NL/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1), 56 points
3. Henric Skoog (S/raceunion Huber Racing), 49 points

Amateur classification
1. Wolfgang Triller (D/Huber Racing by TriSpa), 42 points
2. Carlos Rivas (L/BLACK FALCON), 39 points
3. Wolf Nathan (NL/Huber Racing by TriSpa), 30 points

Team classification
1. Konrad Motorsport, 122 points
2. MRS GT-Racing, 92 points
3. raceunion Huber Racing, 84 points

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: