you're reading...

Dennis Olsen secures third win of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland season

Porsche Junior Dennis Olsen (Konrad Motorsport) adds to his string of successes: After claiming a double victory at Hockenheim, the 21-year-old Norwegian has now won round three of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland on the Lausitzring as part of the Motorsport Festival. The two German racing drivers Christian Engelhart (BLACK FALCON) and Michael Ammermüller (raceunion Huber Racing) climbed the podium next to Olsen on the second and third podium steps. “My third win in a row feels fantastic. Although Christian Engelhart put a lot of pressure on me I stayed cool and didn’t make any mistakes. That was decisive,” said Olsen.

Engelhart took up the race from pole position, but was surprised by Olsen after the first few metres. The driver from the Norwegian town of Våler made a lightning start off the line in his 485 hp Porsche 911 GT3 Cup, beating the seasoned Porsche specialist in the sprint to the first corner. Ammermüller successively defended his third starting position. Over the course of the race, the trio pulled clear of the field on the 3.478-kilometre racetrack. Engelhart stuck close to Olsen’s bumper with a mere one-tenth of a second gap, however the Konrad Motorsport pilot kept him at bay to take the flag in first place after 18 laps.

“Unfortunately my start wasn’t good enough. I still managed to stay close to Dennis Olsen, but he simply put in a flawless drive,” said Engelhart. Ammermüller secured the third podium step: “The beginning of the race was good, but I lacked the speed today to really go for Christian Engelhart,” explained the 31 year old. Behind the first three drivers, Christopher Zöchling (A/MRS GT-Racing) crossed the finish line in fourth. For much of the race, the Austrian could not find a way past Porsche Junior Thomas Preining, however in lap 16 he finally grabbed his chance to sweep past his countryman after the finish straight. Preining concluded his race on fifth ahead of Nick Yelloly (GB/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1).

“I was able to match the pace of the frontrunners over the first laps and that was great,” said Preining. “In my duel with Christopher Zöchling, he played his advantage of experience to the max. He was just great.” The 18 year old initially managed to defend his fourth starting position and blocked many overtaking attempts from Zöchling. But with two laps left to the flag, the youngster had to let the 29 year old past. Victory in the amateur classification went to Wolfgang Triller (D/Huber Racing by TriSpa), who expands his lead in his category.

YouTuber Nihan visited round three of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland on the Lausitzring. The social media producer shared her impressions from behind the scenes of the one-make race series on Twitter and Instagram. Nihan also captured the event on her camera for her YouTube channel. Race four of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland gets underway on Sunday at 9.55am.

Result race 3:

1. Dennis Olsen (N/Konrad Motorsport)
2. Christian Engelhart (D/BLACK FALCON)
3. Michael Ammermüller (D/raceunion Huber Racing)
4. Christopher Zöchling (A/MRS GT-Racing)
5. Thomas Preining (A/Konrad Motorsport)
6. Nick Yelloly (GB/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
7. Luca Rettenbacher (A/Konrad Motorsport)
8. Max van Splunteren (NL/MRS GT-Racing)
9. David Kolkmann (D/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
10. Marius Nakken (N/MRS GT-Racing)
11. Gabriele Piana (I/RN Vision Team BLACK FALCON)
12. Ryan Cullen (GB/raceunion Huber Racing)
13. Henric Skoog (S/raceunion Huber Racing)
14. Larry Ten Voorde (NL/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
15. Richard Gonda (SK/Zele-Racing)
16. Wolfgang Triller (D/Huber Racing by TriSpa)
17. Kim André Hauschild (D/Speed Lover)
18. Carlos Rivas (L/BLACK FALCON)
19. Wolf Nathan (NL/Huber Racing by TriSpa)
20. Philipp Sager (A/Zele-Racing)
21. Jörn Schmidt-Staade (D/Cito Pretiosa)
22. Stefan Rehkopf (D/Cito Pretiosa)
23. Ronja Assmann (D/Cito Pretiosa)
Not classified:
Matthias Jeserich (D/Huber Racing by TriSpa)

Points’ standings after 3 of 14 races:
Drivers’ classification
1. Dennis Olsen (N/Konrad Motorsport), 75 points
2. Michael Ammermüller (D/raceunion Huber Racing), 56 points
3. Christopher Zöchling (A/MRS GT-Racing), 45 points

Rookie classification
1. Thomas Preining (A/Konrad Motorsport), 66 points
2. Larry Ten Voorde (NL/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1), 56 points
3. Marius Nakken (N/MRS GT-Racing), 49 points

Amateur classification
1. Wolfgang Triller (D/Huber Racing by TriSpa), 30 points
2. Wolf Nathan (NL/Huber Racing by TriSpa), 30 points
3. Jörn Schmidt-Staade (D/Cito Pretiosa), 25 points

Team classification
1. Konrad Motorsport, 96 points
2. MRS GT-Racing, 72 points
3. Team Deutsche Post by Project 1, 64 points

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: